Melton LPU Commander December blog

Been a while since my last blog which is a bit of an under statement.

For the last month I have been working in various investigative departments as part of my personal development which has brought home that crime now is truly a Force wide affair with officers not based in Melton supporting the local picture. The first department I went into was the Force Signal Team who deal with allegations of rape. The first job I got involved in was one that happened in Melton and I also got to speak to the OIC who dealt with the suspect Matthew Browne of Tilehurst Road, Reading, Berkshire, who was found guilty by jury on Monday, October 7, after a six day trial at Leicester Crown Court.

In the early hours of Wednesday March 27 2013, Browne broke into the victim’s house in Melton Mowbray, tied her up, gagged her and wrapped Duct Tape around her eyes so that she couldn’t see. Browne was sentenced to 18yrs.

I was most impressed by the professional and dedicated approach taken by staff supporting victims.

I then moved on to the Domestic Abuse section and again got involved in a Melton case that had been deemed high risk and once again witnessed the expertise of the detectives dealing demonstrating how seriously the Force is taking such crimes. The next department was the Force Serious Crime Team who once again have dealt with Melton crimes including blackmail and serious assaults.

I returned to the LPU and have come back to stories of some outstanding work by my staff with Sergeant Williams taking my role for 3 weeks and doing a sterling job. There have been some key offenders locked up for burglary including Simeon Piwek who was convicted for a burglary where he stole chairy boxes. One other job in particular stood out and highlights the professionalism of Melton police officers.

A week ago 2 elderly people were assaulted in separate incidents in a completely unprovoked attack just after 9pm. I have never heard of such crimes occurring in Melton in my 4 years here and we were all left appalled by what took place. My staff pulled out all the stops from taking the reports and gathering evidence to scouring the area resulting in the arrest of a 21-year-old man who has now been charged and remanded into custody to await trial. Staff put in some long hours ensuring a through investigation and I am very grateful to them. This is why they do the job –to make a difference. A lot of the work goes unseen and policing is not a job that you can finish when your shift says you should.

I then had a day on patrol with PC Roscoe around the Vale of Belvoir targeting cross border criminals which is part of Operation Ball.

Image

PS Kear ran an operation earlier in the month on the rural south of Melton working with Rutland and Charnwood again tackling criminals who don’t recognise borders. Have a look on my twitter feed or the Force website for the video

http://www.leics.police.uk/news-appeals/news/2013/11/20/police-target-criminals-crossing-the-county-borders

There was also Operation Tiger tackling ASB and violent crime around the pubs and clubs which brought additional staff in to clamp down on this which was reflected in a drop in violent crime over these 2 weekends. We continue to work closely with the pubs to ensure this continues. We are very lucky to have such a good CCTV system in Melton operated by some dedicated volunteers.

Neighbouhood Watch goes from strength to strength and I would urge you to contact Eric Tindal to ensure you join up –it does work!

I have just had the pleasure of working the Christmas light switch on with ‘Jim Carver’ from the Bill (for those old enough to remember it) doing the honours. This was then followed by the Victorian Fayre this weekend which was a great event and packed.

Lastly yesterday I attended the unveiling of the bronze german shephard celebrating the contribution the Defence Animal Centre makes to this country.

Image

