Hot Weather

 

What fabulous weather we are having, long may it continue. I would much rather have the sun than rain and drizzle. It makes a pleasant change,especially as i`m a bit of a sun worshipper. However, there is a down side to this great heat wave we are having.

 

It`s just the weather Billy Burglar loves because with the high temperatures comes an increased opportunity to commit crime, especially burglary. So it`s a plea from me, please do not leave your windows or back doors open when you go out.Lock and shut em when you leave because it`s really easy pickings for  burglars,they do not even have to break into a sweat (pardon the pun) to get into your house. I know it’s also really warm at night too,but I would ask you all not too leave your window ajar especially downstairs because we have had a number of properties entered via insecure windows at night when the occupants are alseep.

 

The current focus for us at the moment is vehicle crime. We have seen a significant increase in theft of and theft from vehicles. I would ask that if you have any valuables you either lock them in the boot or even better take them with you. Satnav`s and briefcases seem to be the property of choice for the car thief as well as number plates.

 

Due to the increase in car crime we are running a crime prevention day on Tuesday 30th July 2013 between 10am and 4pm at Beaumont Leys Shopping Centre. We have some really good kit that can help minimise you becoming a victim of crime including tamper proof number plate screws.If you are in the area please come and visit us,it will be worth it. 

 

We continue to tackle crime in an attempt to make Beaumont Leys and New Parks a safer place to live and visit. We have had some notable arrests during the past month including charging a female for 9 fraud offences against elderly members of the community, charging a male for 6 burglary offences and charging a juvenile for GBH (Grievous Bodily Harm). These offences give you a flavour of what we deal with on a monthly basis .I can assure you me and my team are working really hard to crack down on those people who cause most harm in our community.  

 

We continue to respond to your concerns and as a direct result of information provided by you the community, we will be executing a number of drug misuse warrants in the coming days, weeks and months all across the Beaumont Leys local policing unit. I would urge anyone who has any information about any individuals they suspect are involved in crime to either contact me or any members of my team direct, or if you wish to remain anonymous you can contact Crimestoppers in confidence on 0800 555 111

 

Last but not least I would like to welcome Sgt Andy Stevens who has joined us and takes on the supervisory role for New Parks safer neighbourhood team.I`m sure Andy will be an asset to the team and i`m looking forward to working with him. 

 

Thank you for reading

 

Inspector Kev Morris

Beaumont Leys Local Policing Commander          

This entry was posted in Beaumont Leys on by .

About 1071kmorris

I`am currently the local policing commander for Beaumont Leys and New Parks.I have seventy staff which enables me to provide neighbourhood policing to the three ward beats of Beaumont,Abbey and New Parks. I have over 23 years of policing experience in various departments within Leicestershire Police which includes response policing,criminal justice and Firearms. I`m also a long suffering supporter of Birmingham City