On duty with… Mark Parish, Detective Inspector, Force Domestic Violence Team

Tell us a little bit about what you do:

I am the Detective Inspector in charge of the Domestic Violence team for both the city and county BCU. The teams investigate reports of high risk domestic abuse and we also take steps to safeguards victims. We work closely with our partner agencies to risk manage victims and protect them from future harm.

What’s the best bit about what you do?

Witnessing an offender being successfully convicted for a serious case of domestic abuse, this isn’t an easy feat as victims understandably find it difficult to come forward. Creating a connection with a victim that enables you to support them through such a difficult period in their life is also extremely rewarding.

What do you find challenging with your role?

Always thinking you could do more and ensuring that everything is in place. Even when I know I have done everything possible, there is an underlying fear that I should be doing more and that’s because I care.

Describe yourself in three words:

Approachable, thoughtful and active (for my age)!

What book is on your bedroom table?

It’s not about the bike, by Lance Armstrong

What’s your favourite film?

I have two, Batteries Not Included – an 80’s film with spaceships, great for kids, and Shawshank Redemption.

What’s your best Police memory?

I don’t think I could pin point just one. One thing I know I will take away with me is the amazing friendships I have made and the support those friends have provided me with through thick and thin. That memory will never leave me.

If you could do any other role in the Police, what would it be?

A pilot

What’s the first thing you do when you get to work?

Make a nice cup of tea

If you could put right one myth about your role or the Police what would it be?

We have got a caring side!

This entry was posted in On duty with on by .

About leicspolice

Leicestershire Police provides a policing service to the people of Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland 24-hours a day, 365-days of the year. The area we are responsible for covers over 2,500 square kilometres (over 965 square miles) and has a population of nearly one million. There is a rich diversity of communities all with their own policing needs.